Students Inducted into Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society

October 11 2016
Category: Academics

More than 30 students were inducted into the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society during a ceremony held last week in Hamilton Hall.

Phi Eta Sigma emphasizes not only academic achievements but three personal qualities which are essential to a successful and happy life: vigor and discipline of mind; care and respect for the body; and nobility and generosity of character.

Phi Eta Sigma was founded at the University of Illinois in 1923 to recognize and promote scholarship among freshmen. The Society has established chapters in over 350 institutions of higher learning in the United States. Elmira College is the 289th chapter, established in 1990.

The words Phi Eta Sigma literally mean “lovers of wisdom.”


Congratulations to the new inductees:

Lesley Batterson ‘19
Colton Butler ‘19
Olivia Cacchione ‘19
Emily Clark ‘19
Caroline Connolly ‘19
Carolyn Corcoran ‘19
Jordyn DeMont ‘19
Rachel Gamache ‘19
Alexander Garey ‘19
Cathryn Granato ‘19
Jonathon Grassie ‘19
Carly Hattala ‘19
Rebecca Heagy ‘19
Sally Hogan ‘19
Mhairi Holmes ‘19
Macy Huntley ‘19
Tsuyoshi Kaji ‘19
Rachel Katzenberger ‘19
Anna Liebelt ‘19
Patricia Little ‘19
Corrie Mace ‘19
Liam Mason ‘19
Annabeth McGovern ‘19
Victoria McGraw ‘19
Elizabeth McIlwain ‘19
Jordan Newcomb ‘19
Blake O’Neill ‘19
Kerri Patt ‘19
Blake Phelps ‘19
Carli Pinner ‘19
Rachel Vespucci ‘19
Erica Wise ‘19
Kendrick Wood ‘19