Elmira College Celebrates Teachers, Education

March 17 2017
Category: Alumni

On Saturday, March 11, Elmira College celebrated teachers and the College’s legacy as an historic institution that continues to play an important role in preparing teachers.  A partnership between the Office of Alumni Relations, the Teacher Education Department, the Rho Mu Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, and the College’s Teacher Education Club (TEACH) enabled the program, which highlighted the accomplishments of alumni from throughout the College’s history.

The morning began with the Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society Induction Ceremony for outstanding education majors.  Senior members of the honor society were awarded KDP cords, and outstanding Education and Speech and Language Disabilities majors completing their junior year, were inducted into the prestigious honor society for educators.  The keynote speaker was Dr. Deborah Owens, Director of Teacher Education at Elmira College.  Recalling achievements of the most noted Kappa Delta Pi members since the creation of the honor society in 1911, Dr. Owens challenged the new inductees to continue the contributions made by these individuals to the educational well being of students.

Dr. Thomas Fiala, Professor Emeritus, Arkansas State University, presented research highlighting Elmira College’s historic and rich legacy in preparing teachers.  His presentation, entitled “Teacher Education at Elmira College: Building on the Past for a Stronger Future” was the result of collaborative work with College Archivist, Nathaniel Ball.  The presentation honored the many College alumni who greatly contributed to the education profession, the College, and the communities in which they lived and worked.

The event concluded with Lynn Hardman Winner ’73, president of the Elmira Alumni Chapter, recognizing the outstanding local educators who have provided service to the College, the Elmira community, and the education profession.  The honorees included Mr. Michael Hamula ’98, high school English teacher for the Horseheads School District; Ms. Peggy Hadlock ’06, second grade teacher at Riverside Elementary School; Ms. Christy Smith-Nichols ’08, fifth grade teacher at Beecher Elementary School; and Mr. Ron Hoodak ’71, educator and community leader. In addition, Ellen Himmelreich, Director of Alumni Relations, recognized all College alumni with a “pinning ceremony.”                                           


Senior Cord Recipients:            Junior KDP Inductees:

Kathryn Austin                             Elijah Butler

Kristen Fecteau                            Elizabeth Charity

Zachary Gretsky                          Alyssa Coon

Seneca Hofbauer                         Megan Fitzgerald

Antionette Jones                          Michaela Marrone

Emily Presser                              Sarah McCaffrey

Sarah Kall                                   Erin McCarney

Brandon Payne                            Rachael Mullen

Lindsay Wargo                            Kiersta Pino

Michaela Johnson                       Cynthia Rivet

Ashley Fredericks                       Tiffany Robillard

Morgan Gosciak                          Colby Runk

                                                     Rachel Schwartzbard

                                                     Emmalee Smith

                                                     Emily Turner

                                                    Courtney VanBuren

                                                    Sadie VanDyke